Interesting reading this week:

Kardos_Interesting_Reading_1891

Interesting Reading by Gyula Kardos, shared on Wikimedia Commons as a public domain work of art

“Non-originals” expect a miracle. I get pretty frustrated with my school at times. And also with our education system. This post pretty much sums up why. (Shared by Jennifer la Garde on Twitter.)

We asked people at the library what they’re doing there. People who think that libraries are dying and an unnecessary community expense generally come from a position of privilege – they don’t need to use a library so can’t imagine why anyone else would. This article is a great reminder about the variety of ways that people use libraries and why they continue to remain relevant in the age of the interwebs. (Shared by Sally on Twitter.)

Teaching men to be emotionally honest. I work in a boys’ school. A lot of the time this troubles me. This article did not make me feel better about it! I found it very interesting and I think there is a lot in here to share with men about why they should be feminists too. (Shared by Stephanie on WordPress.)

When teachers highlight gender, kids pick up on stereotypes. A companion piece to the article above; this also made me angst-y about working in a boys’ school. And made me question everything I did as a primary school teacher. Thanks for all the though provoking, Stephanie – I think! (Shared by Stephanie on WordPress.)

Leave a Reply

